shopping cart empty
Soldering Temp for LED board.
Login to post a new topic and to write a reply.

Search within thread:

Login to rate this thread.
#1 (permalink)      11/23/2016 10:17:24 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
dude123
  • JoinedNov 2016
  • Posts 9
  • Reviews 0
  • Kudos2
Soldering Temp for LED board.
Hi there,
I ordered a XM-L2 T6 Led with the 20mm board here on Fasttech and since I am new to soldering, is there a max soldering temp for this board so that I don't mess it up? I have read in the past about different temp settings when working on things like this.
#2 (permalink)      11/24/2016 3:41:55 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
airbagz
  • JoinedJul 2013
  • Posts 2189
  • Reviews 13
  • Kudos1558
Do you mean the LED and the 20mm board are separate items, or are you talking about soldering the leads/wires from the driver to an already mounted LED?

If they're separate items, I have no idea about the temp. If you just want to solder the leads to an LED that's already mounted on a board, as long as you get the solder pads hot enough for the solder to flow onto the leads/pads you should have no problem.

My soldering iron gets up to about 900* (no temp control) and I've never had a problem. The finished solder joints should look kinda shiny. Make sure that the solder joints don't stick up too high. The driver could short out if the joints touch the bottom of a aluminum reflector. Been there, done that. :)

I usually use these > SKU 1138102 to prevent shorts. They may be a little hard to see, but they're there. lol

Edited on 11/24/2016 at 3:46 PM. Reason:
I just need one more flashlight. Just one. Honestly. :D
#3 (permalink)      11/24/2016 8:25:20 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
JPBel
  • JoinedAug 2014
  • Posts 2874
  • Reviews 80
  • Kudos1525
330°C to 350°C (626°F to 662°F) is typical.

But the right temperature setting actually depend on :

- The heat production capability of a soldering iron.